Staff Picks

Staff Picks

Staff Picks

Cook's Illustrated Revolutionary Recipes

Many cookbooks dazzle the eyes at first, but when you really look at them, you realize the recipes aren’t practical. The ingredients are too esoteric, or the steps too complicated, or they simply aren’t worth the time and effort to make them. But in this book, all the recipes have been thoroughly  tested for optimum taste, simplicity of ingredients, and efficiency of preparation.  You’ll find many old familiar dishes here – chicken noodle soup, shepherd’s pie, chocolate chip cookies, etc., etc. -- but what make these recipes different is that they are really excellent versions of them, made the easiest way with easy ingredients. I made the macaroni and cheese and my picky teenage son told me it was the “best ever”. ~Meredith, CCL

The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson

Candice is sure that her summer is ruined when she and her mother move into her dead grandmother's home. But while helping to clear it out, she discovers a letter about a local legend and what seems like an invitation from her grandmother to solve the mystery and win the grand prize. This fun and engaging story will keep readers guessing until the very end. This book is for those who love mysteries but also those who want a book that explores the issues of being black in America. Perfect for middle grade fans of The Westing Game and The Hate U Give. ~Danielle, CCL

The Rising Sea by Clive Cussler and Graham Brown

The seas are rising too fast to just be the effects of global warming.  An investigation by Kurt Austin and other NUMA scientists finds anomalies in the East China Sea.  During their exploration of the area, a ruined underwater mining operation is discovered.  Who was mining in the deep sea, and why?  The NUMA team finds answers, and solutions, to this unexpected, potential catastrophe for the low lying areas of the world. Cussler always writes a thrilling novel with a window into unusual science and technology.  Recommended. ~Beverly, HH

The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani

This historical novel for middle grades tells the story of one family's experience during the separation of India into what is currently India and Pakistan. It is told through letters from the daughter to her mother,  who died giving birth to her and her twin brother. It is a heart-wrenching tale of the family's struggle stay together and alive on the brutal journey to Pakistan. This story is for anyone who would like to know more about this time period and who enjoys a story about family connections. ~Danielle, CCL

Virgil Wander by Leif Enger

This is a character-driven novel set in a small town on the shores of Lake Superior. Virgil Wander is recovering from a head injury, but this somewhat unreliable narrator is part of a supportive community, also struggling with what memories to keep and which ones to let go. Virgil tries to protect the people important to him including a kite-flying Finn, a foundering handyman, and an old flame. Fans of Richard Russo and Kent Haruf will enjoy this novel. ~Kathryn, CCL

Pages